Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Books Featuring Vampires

Top 5 Wednesday (#T5W) is something that I discovered through Ash’s blog, so go check her out! It was created by Lainey and Samantha in 2013 and is still going strong. There is a new topic every week, and you choose 5 books that are related to that topic. If you’re interested in joining in, have a look at their Goodreads group for more information.

Screen Shot 2017-10-18 at 18.48.12

The topic this week is books featuring a paranormal creature of your choice. I chose vampires. The reason for this is that they’re my favourite paranormal creatures, and I love reading about them.

1. The Vampire Diaries

IMG_4857

Like I’ve said plenty of times before, I love The Vampire Diaries… as a TV show. The books, not so much. However, the show was based on them and I love how the vampires are portrayed in this series.

2. Twilight

IMG_5430.JPG

I really can’t believe that this wasn’t the first one that came to mind when I thought of vampire books. Say what you want about it, I loved these books, and the films, when I first discovered them. They started my fascination with vampires, and whilst there were things that were so cringey, I couldn’t get enough with them. I was always Team Edward, in case you were wondering.

3. The House of Night Series

IMG_4855

This is another series that I love. I started this when I was 12 or 13, and I still haven’t finished it! There is so many books, and I’ll go through stages of devouring a book or two in a few days, and then won’t touch the next one for another year. Perhaps it’s my subconscious trying to make the series last as long as possible.

4. Glass Houses

IMG_6351

I’ve only read the first book in this series, but I did enjoy it. The vampires in it weren’t my favourite, as you can probably tell from the above picks, I like the vampires to be the protagonists of the story. They were written well, however, and I’m looking forward to reading the next book.

5. Dracula

dracula-book-cover.jpg

I wasn’t actually going to include this one, for the simple reason that I’ve not read it. But I do want to, and I felt I couldn’t do a vampire post and not include Dracula. I’m definitely bumping it up my TBR a few places!

Remember, if you’re interested in taking part in #T5W, check out their Goodreads group!

-Books&Belle xx

43 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books Featuring Vampires

  1. I never read Twilight. I watched the movies, but I wasn’t big into reading when I was that age. I’m not sure if I would ever read them now just because they don’t seem to interest me anymore. However, I have been looking for more vampire books since I’m trying to expand my reading even more haha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really liked the Vampire Diaries, but I read the books like a decade before the show was even talked about. I’m also Team Edward!

    Like

  3. Oh man, I haven’t read a vampire books since Twilight was in it’s prime. I love them. My favorite one as a child was the Darren Shan series ^-^

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great choices! I loved Twilight too, the films and the books, not even sorry anout it! I remember binge reading them when I was ill from school with a kidney infection. I finished the 3rd book at like 9 in the evening and begged my mother to go to Asda to get me Breaking Dawn. 😂 Love The House of Night series too, still need to finish them, think I was on book 6? I’d definitely recommend Dracula, it’s fantastic ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I used to love the House of Night series when I was younger but never managed to finish the series! But I did throughly enjoy them! I need to read Dracula soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dracula can drag in a few places, but when it’s good, it’s GOOD. Lots of action and suspense you wouldn’t normally associate with a classic

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment