Reviews

Book Review – Feel Me Fall by James Morris (Spoiler-Free!)

35052426

Synopsis:

Secrets and survival in the Amazon.

Emily Duran is the sole survivor of a plane crash that left her and her teenage friends stranded and alone in the jungles of the Amazon. Lost and losing hope, they struggle against the elements, and each other. With their familiar pecking order no longer in place, a new order emerges, filled with power struggles, betrayals, secrets and lies. Emily must explain why she’s the last left alive.

But can she carry the burden of the past?

Discover the gripping new adventure novel that explores who we are when no one is watching, and how far we’ll go in order to survive.

Review:

img_5480.jpg

When the author, James Morris, emailed me about reviewing his book, I was so excited to receive it. The description really interested me, and it sounded right up my street. I wasn’t disappointed… at all. It jumps between pre-crash, being stranded, and post-crash, which I liked. I thought it represented how scrambled the main character, Emily’s head was after being rescued. It also helped me to get a sense of what the characters were like before the crash, which made it even more interesting when reading about their reaction to being stranded. Emily tells her story through writing it down, a suggestion from her counsellor to help her cope with the trauma she experienced.

This book kept me hooked, mostly with one question I kept asking myself. Out of 134 passengers, these 6 students are the only ones to make it to land. It’s already been revealed that Emily is the only survivor who made it home, so how did her five classmates die?Β I needed to know more, and each death shocked me more than the last.

The characters were easy to connect with, which I was relieved about. I’ve read some books that have really promising plots, but then I’ve been unable to connect with any characters! I think I saw parts of myself in pre-crash Emily, she was a bit of a bookworm, came from a single-mum household and believed in being kind to those around you, so perhaps because I found myself relating to who she was before tragedy struck her, it made connecting with her that much easier.

I’ve said this with a few books that I’ve read recently (which is a good thing!) but I did not expect the ending, not even a little bit. I’ve invented little game where I try and predict the ending of books like this, but I was way off with this one. This is a spoiler-free review, so I won’t say anything except I’m looking forward to Morris’ future work.

Overall, I give this book 4.5 stars.

untitled.5

I’d like to thank James Morris for providing me with a copy of Feel Me Fall in exchange for an honest review.

-Books&Belle xx

 

36 thoughts on “Book Review – Feel Me Fall by James Morris (Spoiler-Free!)

  1. I am glad you liked this book, I know I did when I read it. That ending was definitely not something I expected either! I loved it though and it made me wish that there was another book and that this was a series.I would love to see what happens after. I also throughout was wondering who was gonna get it when. That drew me more into the story and made me keep reading. I can’t say enough good about this one for sure. So glad we both had a good experience with it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

