Reviews

Book Review – The Awakening (The Vampire Diaries #1) Spoiler Free!

IMG_4857

Synopsis:

A Love Triangle of Unspeakable Horror…

Elena
Searching for the ultimate thrill, she vowed to have Stefan.

Stefan
Haunted by his tragic past, he struggled to resist her passion.

Damon
Driven by revenge, he hunted the brother who betrayed him.

The terrifying story of two vampire brothers and the beautiful girl torn between them.

Review:

The only thing that made me want to read this series was my love for the TV show adaption of it, the synopsis didn’t intrigue me at all, and the only reason the cover did is because the edition I have has the actors from the show on it, which is something I usually hate.

I found the main character, Elena Gilbert, very annoying and unlikable, she was selfish and didn’t seem to care about any of her friends after Stefan Salvatore came to town. I also didn’t like how arrogant she was, and how she acted when she realised the guy she likes might not like her back. I didn’t really find any of the other characters any better either, Caroline, my absolute favourite character in the show, was weak and needed to be saved, and Stefan just annoyed me with how self-pitying he was.

I disliked the plot, too. I won’t go into it as this is a spoiler-free review, but the plot was boring and there was just so many clichés. I did read all four books, but that’s only because I wanted to give it the chance to get better, and in my opinion, it didn’t. I also felt bad for not reading, as my mum brought them for me for a Christmas present and wanted to know what I thought of them, so me finishing the series was very forced.

Now, I’m not saying that just because I didn’t like it nobody else will, that’s not the case at all. Maybe the reason I didn’t like it is because I was comparing it to the show the whole time? This is the only time I have said this about a book, but I do prefer the show so much more. The show is based loosely off of the books, the only similarities I really see are the supernatural aspects, the love triangle, some of the characters and a tiny bit of the plot.

I do want to put emphasis on the fact that this is my opinion, and others may vary. This series just wasn’t for me, unfortunately.

Overall, I give it 1 star.

untitled.png-Books&Belle xx

38 thoughts on “Book Review – The Awakening (The Vampire Diaries #1) Spoiler Free!

  1. I love the show and I was going to attempt to read the books back when I first got into reading but that never happened. I think what put me off was all the negative things people had to say about the book. I wish you had enjoyed it more though. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I purposefully haven’t read this series because it’s one of the very few where everyone I know who’s read it has preferred the fb series adaptation! And I LOVED the series (plus Ian Somerhalder..lol) I think I’d be comparing it all the time like you x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These have been sitting on my shelf for so long. Maybe I should save myself and not read them. I don’t think I’ve seen a single good thing about them.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I lost in the tv show and I don’t know if that’s a good thing or not compared to the books. Maybe I’ll try and see if I can get into at all and then just not finish if it doesn’t work out. I feel like it’s the one book were everyone likes the tv show better for once. lol

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I have friend obsessed with this show and I don’t think it’s really for me, but it’s interesting to see a case of “the book was worse” this time!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I enjoyed the books more when I was younger because I wasn’t really interested in quality and just cared more about the teen romance/drama aspect – but I agree the show is far better than the books, especially in terms of character development. I personally didn’t like Elena much in the books or the show, but I do love Nina Dobrev!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve never seen the show or read the books so I don’t really have anything to go off of. I’m sorry this one didn’t work out for you though. I hate when that happens. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve read the series years ago before watching the show, so my opinion is quite different. The characters were different for both the show and the books, so I can definitely see why you’re frustrated with the books. I’m more of a Stefan fan myself in the books compared to the show, where I prefer Damon.

    An LJ Smith book I would recommend is “The Forbidden Game.” It’s similar to the movie, “The Labyrinth.” If you want something with vampires in it, I recommend The Night World series. There are shapeshifters, vampires, werewolves, and witches. Also, different characters and different stories per book. However, some characters in the first few books make an appearance in the future books. The series isn’t quite finished yet, but the fandom still exists somewhere in the internet. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I completely agree with this! The books are SO BAD. Like how the writers of the show could adapt them to such a amazing TV show, just goes to show they’re way better storytellers than L.J. Smith.

    This book series is crap. The TV show however, is so well done! No one should waste their money on the books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

