Tags

Poetry Favourites

IMG_4871

So, I love poetry. I love reading it, but I wouldn’t even attempt to write it, as I can assure you it would suck. I find when reading it, a lot of the time you can really feel what the reader was feeling at the time they wrote it. It can be raw, funny, heartbreaking, but I can’t get enough of it. I have three favourite poets who I’m going to talk about in this post.

1. Ari Eastman

IMG_4872

I discovered Ari’s poetry through Twitter, and thank god I did, because I fell in love with it. After reading a few of her poems, I ordered ‘Green Eyes’ and ‘I Promised You I Wouldn’t Write This’. She also has twoย other books of poems called ‘Everything Sucks, But I’m Still Happy’ and ‘Bloodline’ that I plan to buy sooner or later. Her poems are very personal and when reading them, you feel as if you’re being invited in to share her experiences. The poems are beautiful, and Ari is my favourite poet. Oh, she re-posted one of my pictures once, and it was great. Just thought you should all know that.

2. Amanda Lovelace

IMG_4873

When I was buying Ari Eastman’s poems on Amazon, this one popped up in the recommended section, and the title intrigued me. I loved the idea of poetry about a woman lifting herself up and saving herself, rather than needing someone to fix her. When it arrived in the post, I began reading right away and was not disappointed. The poems were very moving and I’m so happy I discovered them.

3. Rupi Kaur

IMG_4874Rupi Kaur’s work is very well-known, so it was social media that caused me to discover it. I put it on my birthday list last year, and my mum brought it for me, which I was happy about. Her poems are empowering and I definitely recommend them. I can’t wait to read her next collection of poems, ‘The Sun and Her Flowers’ on October 3rd.

-Books&Belle xx

42 thoughts on “Poetry Favourites

  1. I hadn’t heard of Ari Eastman before but I do like spoken word (especially when it’s got good rhyme and rhythm), so maybe I’ll check her out. I’ve read bits of Princess and Milk and Honey but I don’t think the short style of poetry is for me…I’m not one of those people who is like IT ISN’T REAL POETRY but I just personally prefer longer and denser works, especially with unusual form, more punctuation, internal rhyme. Then again, I suppose these really all go together as part of a collection and aren’t meant for standalone?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never actually been into poetry but I think I should be. It seems so peaceful! I’ve heard of Milk and Honey so maybe I should give that one a go ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never been one much for poetry, I think GCSE English ruined it for me when we had to depict and decode them! But I’m one to give things a 2nd chance ๐Ÿ™‚ These sound very interesting, I may have to see if the local library stocks them! X

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I personally have never gotten into poetry it makes me think of being forced to read it during English class in school! I’ll have to check some of these out though and see if they can change my mind!
    PaleGirlRambling xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. All of these have intrigued me, I’ve heard/seen a lot about Milk and Honey and have been wanting to get my hands on it for ages but I’ve never heard of the others and want these just as much after your descriptions! I’m gonna come back and comment my thoughts once I’ve got them, I’m excited to read!!
    Alice Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

